The Noble Eightfold Path

The Noble Eightfold Path (ariyo aṭṭhaṅgiko maggo) is the core Buddhist framework that describes the path of practice toward Liberation from Suffering. It is divided into 3 sections: Wisdom, Action, and Meditation/Integration.

The section on Wisdom (pañña)

1. Right (or Wise) View (sammā-diṭṭhi ) (2.28.17 on Suffering and 3.7.17 on Karma)

2. Right Intention (sammā-sankappa) (3.14.17)

The section on Ethics (sīla)

3. Right Speech (sammā-vācā) (3.21.17)

4. Right Action (sammā-kammanta) (4.4.17)

5. Right Livelihood (sammā-ājīva) (4.11.17)

Summary: Wise Action as choices that condition States (4.18.17)

The section on Meditation (samādhi)

6. Right Effort (sammā-vāyāma) (5.2.17)

7. Right Mindfulness (sammā-sati) (5.9.17)

8. Right Meditation/Integration (sammā-samādhi)

On Stillness (5.23.17)

Meditation: Concentration at the nose-tip

On nibbāna (5.30.17)

Meditation: Stilling body, stilling mind (5.30.17)

2 thoughts on “The Noble Eightfold Path”

  1. Pingback: Ditch your meditation timer (use it differently) – Sean Feit Oakes, PhD

  2. Pingback: A new meditation and yoga retreat format – Sean Feit Oakes, PhD

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top

Resources to support your practice, delivered to your inbox.


Join our saṅgha and receive articles, recorded talks, and a free guided meditation. Ok, they’re always free. But it’s a lovely newsletter as these things go.

Thanks for joining! Check your inbox for good things.

Too many subscribe attempts for this email address.

We use cookies as part of website function, and ask your consent for this.