4 Modes of Attention

One way to think about mindfulness and effort in meditation practice is to imagine a graph where the X axis is volition (doing things on purpose), and the Y axis is consciousness, or being aware of what’s happening. Here’s a talk on this model, some pictures, and a handout to put on the fridge.

Meditation: stillness of body, stillness of mind, shepherding your state (wise effort). (10.16.18)

Talk: Four modes of attention: conscious-directed, conscious-undirected, unconscious-undirected, unconscious-directed. (10.16.18)

Handout: 4 Modes of Attention (PDF)

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top

Connect with the beauty and power of Buddhist training.

Receive articles, guided meditations, and tools for starting or deepening your practice, along with Dr. Oakes’ teaching schedule.

We use cookies as part of website function, and ask your consent for this.