audio, buddhism, series

The 3 Characteristics (tilakkhaṇa)

The 3 Characteristics or Marks (tilakkhaṇa) of all conditioned things. These three comprise the core insights that begin the path of Liberation from Suffering in the Theravāda tradition.

1. Impermanence, the constancy of Change (anicca)

2. Unsatisfactoriness, the first Noble Truth, Suffering (dukkha)

3. Selflessness, Emptiness of Independent Essence (anattā)

One thought on “The 3 Characteristics (tilakkhaṇa)”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.